There are a number of options when you add or edit Custom Groups.
Each group of custom fields is displayed within a panel. The panel will have a header which is the name of your group. If you turn this option off the header/title will not show when displaying the fields.
Show when adding a record
Optionally when you add a record to contacts, employees, projects etc.. you can choose if the custom group will display. Turning this off will mean the custom group and its fields will not show when you create a new record. You may want to turn this option off and only enable the extra fields when editing a record (see below).
Show when editing a record
When editing a record, such as a contact, employee, project etc.. you can choose if the custom group will display. This is like “show when adding a record” but the option is when you are editing the record. If this option is turned off you will not be able to update the fields set after it has been saved. It’s not advisable to turn this option off.